Tags

, , , , , ,

Find a scene that has depth. From a fixed position, take a sequence of five or six shots at different focal lengths without changing your viewpoint. (You might like to use the specific focal lengths indicated on the lens  barrel.)

As you page through the shots on the preview screen it almost feels as though you’re moving through the scene. So the ability to change focal lengths has an obvious use: rather than physically moving towards or away from your subject, the lens can do it for you. The other immediate difference between the shots is the ‘angle of view’, which also depends on the sensor size of your camera. Use the sequence to try to get a feeling for how the angle of view corresponds to the different focal lengths for your particular camera and lens combination. Which shot in the sequence feels closest to the angle of view of your normal vision?

My first observation on reviewing these images is that the highlights are blown, which I feel this would not have happened if I’d have used Manual mode. The matrix light meter was confused by the dark tones under the hall and the light areas at the far end of the image. During post-production I used Lightroom to control the bright areas of the image.

I decided for this task to use my full-frame Nikon D610 with a 16-35mm lens. I use an X-rite colorchecker to help create a lens profile later in Lightroom. The colorchecker helps to maintain a consistent colour management from screen to printer.

The local market town of Faversham is very close to my home where I found the ideal location of the Market Square, which has strong leading lines both vertically and horizontally. I felt it had added interest with people, vehicles and café tables around. It helped to create a sense of movement through the scene.

The shot that felt closet to ‘normal vision’ to me and the most comfortable was the middle image at 20mm. It gave enough sense of space and that your eye could manage without losing all the messages going to the brain.

Photographing from a fixed point isn’t uncommon for me due to my mobility and disability so I am interested to explore what the viewpoint would be if I lowered the angle and used my right angle viewfinder. I will look at taking more shots of the scene to experiment and add them to my log.

 

Equipment used

Nikon D610

AF-S Nikkor 16-35mm f4 ED

X-Rite colorpassport checker

Manfrotto tripod 055

Settings

16mm, ISO400, f8, 1/160

20mm, ISO400, f8, 1/160

35mm, ISO400, f8, 1/125

contact sheet

 

 

 

